A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide administration in tirupur

Administration in Tiruppur

tirupur district Formed in February 2009, Tiruppur is a famous city in the Tiruppur District of Tamil Nadu, India. Within a very short time it has gone on to become one of the most industrialized cities in India. It has a vibrant economy and the reasons behind it are its famous uthukkului butter, the banian industry of Tirupur, the cotton market and several other things. The main language spoken in Tiruppur is Tamil. But, minorities like Malayalam, Telugu and Kannada speakers also prevail in certain portions. According to the 2011 census, Tiruppur alone held a population equal to the US state Nevada. In the year, the population was roughly 2,471,222 people. Because of its population, it went on to become the 176th popular districts of India, in a total of 640.

Government Bodies in Tiruppur

The executive wing of the corporation and the voters of the state, elect the Mayor. The district is administered by its collector. The collector of the district is currently Mr. Govindaraj. There are a total of five parliamentary constituencies in Tiruppur, namely, Coimbatore, the Nilgiris, Tiruppur, Pollachi, and Erode. The revenue divisions of the district are three in number – Tiruppur, Dharapuram and Udumaalaipettai. The district has one corporation, 6 municipalities, 17 town panchayats, 13 panchayat unions and 273 village panchayats.

The Municipal Corporation of Tiruppur

Municipal Corporation of TiruppurE-governance has been introduced into Municipal Corporation Tiruppur. In order to ensure better transparency between the corporation and residents, this mode of governance has been introduced. Thus, collection of taxes also becomes quite easy through this method. The technology associated with communication and Technology has advanced in many ways. The facilitation counter is connected to the Municipal Corporation through a properly upgraded database server. A new facilitation counter has been set up in the premise of the municipal corporation, so that work pace can be hastened. The mayor and deputy mayor of the city administers the municipal corporation of the district. The municipality was established in 1917 and it went to become the Tiruppur Corporation in 2008.
Click here to read more on Local Bodies of Tirupur.

Tirupur Municipal Commissioner
Kumeran road

MLAs in Tiruppur

Tiruppur city is a major part for the Lok Sabha Constituency called Tiruppur. The region is broken in two segments, namely Tiruppur North and Tiruppur South assembly constituencies. According to the new parliamentary constituency, Tiruppur comes under Palani, Coimbatore and Gobichettipalayam constituencies. Today, the MLA of Southern Tiruppur is K. Thangavel (CPM) and in Northern Tiruppur the MLA is M.S.M.Anandan (ADMK).Thiru. C. Sivasami is the recently elected MP from Tirupur.

You may also like to visit

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries