A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide local bodies in tirupur

Local Bodies in Tirupur

Tiruppur started off as a small union and became a town with the inclusion of Valipalayam, Thennampalayam, and Karuvampalayam villages on 1st of December 1917. It was constituted as a Third Grade Municipality and was upgraded into a corporation on 29th December 2008. In 2008 the district had 52 wards. The number of wards was increased to 60 in 2011. Tirupur is the only city in the district to be upgraded into a corporation. Conversely, It was named as the district's capital on 22nd February 2009.
Tirupur Local Body

Governmental Bodies in Tirupur

Tirupur is administered by its Collector. The present collector of the district is Mr. Govindaraj. Moreover, Tirupur comprises of 5 Parliamentary constituencies, 8 Assembly constituencies, 3 Regional divisions, 7 Muncipalities and 16 Town Panchayats.

Collectorate of Tirupur
Thiru G. Govindaraj I.A.S.

Cotton Market Building, Tiruppur District - 641 604
Email - collrtup&nic.in
Phone - 91421-2218811
Fax - 0421-2218822

Tirupur Municipal Corporation

The Tirupur Municipal Corporation is a civic body that governs the Tirupur city. The municipality  comprises 52 wards which are managed by a Mayor, who rules over deputy mayors and councillors. Currently, the city has 50 councillors for every ward. The current Mayor of Tirupur is Visalakshi.

Tirupur Corporation Mayor
Party - AIADMK
Wards - 60
Contact Number : 04212201186, 9842274863

Other Muncipality Chairmen

Station - Udumalpet
Person - Velusamy C.
Party - DMK
Ward - 33
Contact Number - 04252-224347

Station - Vellakoil
Person - Shanthi K.
Party - AIADMK
Ward - 21
Contact Number - 9443563444

Station - Palladam
Person - Ramamoorthy R.
Party - DMK
Ward - 18
Contact Number - 9442373322

Station - Velampalayam

Person - Subramaniam P.
Party - DMK
Ward - 21
Contact Number - 9894097225

Village Panchayats and Town Panchayats

Tirpur has 16 different Town Panchayats which are Muthur, Rudravathi, Kannivadi, Mulanur, Kolathupalayam, Chinnakkampalayam, Avinashi (also spelled as Avanashi), Dhali, Madathukulam, Kaniyur, Komaralingam, Samalapuram, Sankaramanallur, Thirumuruganpoondi, Kunnathur and Uthukuli. The Town Panchayats are controlled by councilors, while the Village Panchayats are head by presidents.

List of Town Panchayat in Tirupur

Avinashi Town Panchayat
Avinashi, Tiruppur DT.
Phone : 04296 273266, 8883100306

Chinnakkampalayam Town Panchayat
Selampalayam post,Tiruppur DT
Phone : 04258 255223, 8883100307

Kaniyur Town Pt.
Kaniyur post,Udumalaipettai TK,Tiruppur DT
Phone : 04252 241606, 8883100309

Kannivadi Town Panchayat
Dharapuram TK Tiruppur DT
Phone :04202 225261, 8883100310

Kolathupalayam Town Panchayat
Kolathupalayam, Dharapuram, TK,Tiruppur DT
Phone :04258 241253, 8883100311

Komaralingam Town Pt.post
Udumalaipettiai TK,Tiruppur DT
Phone :04252 278300 8883100312

Kunnathur Town Panchayat
Kunnathur Post, Tiruppur DT
Phone :04294 263182 8883100313

Madathukulam Town Panchayat
Madathukulam post,UdumalaiPettai TK,Tiruppur DT
Phone :04252 252309 8883100314

Mulanur Town Panchayat
Mulanur post,Dharapuram TK, Tiruppur DT
Phone :04202 227304 8883100315

Muthur Town Pt
Muthur Post, Kangayam TK, Tiruppur DT
Phone : 04257 254603 8883100316

Rudrawathi Town Panchayat
Kundadam post, Tiruppur DT
Phone :04258 263253 8883100317

Samalapuram Town Panchayat
Pallapalayam post, Mangalam Via, Tiruppur DT
Phone :0421 2333949 8883100318

Sangaramanallur Town Panchayat
Kolumam post, Madathukulam Via,Tiruppur DT
Phone :04252 278211 8883100319

Dhali Town Pt
Dhali post, Udumalaipettiai TK, Tiruppur DT
Phone :04252 265600 8883100308

Thirumuruganpoondi Town Panchayat
Thirumuruganpoondi post,Avinashi TK, Tiruppur DT
Phone : 04296 276183 8883100320

Uthukuli Town Panchayat
Uthukuli post, Tiruppur DT
Phone : 04294 260202 8883100321

Water Supply and Sanitation in Tirupur

Tirupur City makes use of two different water schemes, which are supplied by the Mettupalayam Head Works. The first scheme is managed by the Tirupur Municipality. It produces a capacity of 7 MLD to core cities in the Tirupur District. The Mettypalayam water supply scheme was designed to meet up with the needs of 3 Lakh people every year. The second scheme is managed by the Tamil Nadu Water Supply and Drainage Board. It produces a capacity of 45 MLD with 24 MLD being provided to the city of Tirupur. The remaining water is distributed to the wayside village panchayats.

The supply of drinking water in Tirupur, to both rural and urban areas is managed by the district's local bodies. The local bodies are assigned to manage, monitor, source and distribute water efficiently. The statutory boards were established by the State Governments.

Water Tariff in Tirupur

In accordance with Governmental orders, locals with water connections for household and domestic needs must pay a water tax (fixed amount) of Rs. 360 every year.

Tap Rate for Domestic Users in the City
Rs 50 per tap for every month

Metered Rate for Domestic Users in the City
Upto 12000 litres - Rs. 50 per month
Above 12000 litres - Rs. 4 per 1000 liters

Metered Rate for Domestic Users under the Village Panchayats

Rs. 3.50 per 1000 liters

Metered Rate for Non-Domestic Usage
Upto 10000 litres - Rs. 100 per month
Above 10000 litres - Rs. 10 per 1000 litres

Additional NTADCL Charges For Water Scheme - 3
For Villages - Rs. 3 per Kilolitre
For Domestic Usage - Rs. 5 per Kilolitre (Within Tirupur Municipality)
For Commercial uses - Rs. 45 per Kilolitre
For Industrial Uses - Rs. 45 per Kilolitre

For More Queries:

Tamil Nadu Water Supply & Drainage Board
Address: 105, Puduvinayagar Koil Street, Kangayam, Tirupur
Phone number: +91-4257-223155

Explore more about Administration in Tiruppur

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries